The Thorny Flat Mountain Boys


       The Thorny Flat Mountain Boys were named after the second highest point in the state of West Virginia and the highest point on Cheat Mountain by Gregory Dean Moore and D.W. West. The two began playing music together in 2013 when they decided to form the duo. The two are main stays in the band and are original members. Since the duo formed, special guests such as Paul Marganian from the Elk River Ramblers, Nathaniel Duncan, Tyler Evans, Austin Alexander, Cody Jones, Chris Hare, and West Virginia music legend Mike Morningstar have joined them on stage.. In 2017 the duo added Matt Petty and Bud Boston to the band.


       The band consists of Gregory Dean Moore on Guitar, 6 string banjo, and Vocals; D.W. West on Guitar, 6 String Banjo, Mandolin, Harmonica, and Vocals; Bud Boston on Upright Bass, and Matt Petty on Guitar, Vocals, and 6 string banjo.


      The band plays at Snowshoe Mountain every weekend of the winter seasons and plays all over the mid Atlantic area and Ohio during the rest of the year. The band also frequents Mountain Music Trail venue the Fiddlehead in Big Spring. The bands debut album released in 2017 at Hookahville 48 and is called “Appreciate the Sun”. The band is looking to release a new cd in the Spring of 2018. The sound that the band has acquired is an Appalachian, bluegrass, Americana, and Folk string band sound. D.W. West had a cameo appearance in a West Virginia Film Festival Feature Film “Mike Morningstar – Here’s to the working man” By Richard Anderson along side his mentor and teacher Mike Morningstar. D.W. is Mikes one and only student. The band is looking to expand to other regions in 2018 but will continue to play their favorite part of the state- Pocahontas County. 

Comments are closed.